The Brick

April 13, 2008 at 2:12 pm Leave a comment

Today was my first quasi-brick (FYI, a brick is when you do two of the events back to back).  I say “quasi” for a couple of reasons: (1) I swam and then ran (skipped the bike) and (2) I was at the gym so there really wasn’t any transition involved.

Regardless, it was fun and it felt good.  I had one of my better runs in some time.  Eventually I’ll work my way up to doing an actual mock-triathlon, but that’s some time away.  I really need to improve on my swimming before I even begin to think about that.  

That gets us to my swimming…oh, my swimming…what can I say?  I’d say the best way to describe my swimming would be that I’m sucking more air than Dr. Phil at a chili-eating contest.  Honestly, I feel like a contestant on “The Biggest Loser” only there isn’t a trainer yelling at me.  It’s just me and that 15.9% body fat figure mocking me with every stroke.  

I came to the realization that I need to focus on my swim more than anything else for a while.  The trick to this is finding the time when the pool isn’t full of senior citizens with questionable bladder control.  

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Survey Says… The Great Bike Debate

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


