Reality Check

April 14, 2008 at 4:07 pm Leave a comment

Out of curiosity, I decided to check the paces/times for the Hawaii qualifiers at last year’s 70.3 in Oceanside (http://www.ironmancalifornia.com/).  

One word: Wow!  Six words: This is going to be brutal.  

Apparently, my current run pace time of about 9:30/mile isn’t going to cut it unless I can convince the organizers that I’m a woman aged 60-64 (and even then I’d have some challengers).  The pace for the men’s winner in my age bracket posted a 6:16/minute pace after averaging 24 miles/hour on the bike.  

Wow.  That is very fast.  Even for triathletes that are in shape, averaging 24 on the bike (56 miles) and then following it up with a sub 6:30 pace on the run (13 miles) is VERY impressive.  

I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again: I’m not so delusional that I expect to finish anywhere near the top, but I am competitive enough to think that I’d be able to finish in the top half and I’ll be damned if I’m letting some lady older than my mom cruise by me on the run.  

I currently have a year before the 70.3, although I plan on trying to squeeze one shorter race in somewhere in between (either later this year or early next season).  I’m spending the next 8 weeks building my muscular and cardiovascular endurance.  After this, I’m going to start mixing in the speed sessions.  As long as I keep picturing people on the sidelines laughing at me as my mom passes me, I should be fine on the inspiration part. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

The Great Bike Debate Rest days, flexible training, and tricky winds

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


