Just one of those days…

April 21, 2008 at 11:21 am Leave a comment

Today has been one of those days where I should have just followed my dog’s lead and gone back to bed after breakfast.  I knew it was going to be a rough day in the saddle when I took my dog on a walk this morning.  My legs were tired and I could feel it.  Apparently I’m not quite used to the ride-run-ride routine yet.  What I didn’t realize was that I was going to literally go head-over-heels on my second ride on a brand new carbon bike!!!

I set out this morning to ride the loop near my house which involves quite a few hills (I have no idea what I was thinking).  The ride down the hills was just peachy; I was tucked in the aero position and flying.  It wasn’t until the second half of my ride that I realized that I just should have stayed in bed.

Just past the halfway point on my ride I realized my cadence wasn’t registering.  I’m a big believer in proper cadence when riding and I like to have it working.  This problem usually happens when my cadence meter shifts a little during the ride so I reached down to try to shift it.  Well, I really don’t know the specifics of what happened next, but if I had to guess I’d say it was a perfect storm of my weight being shifted to the left (to adjust the cadence meter) and hitting a decent sized bump in the road while my right hand was on the bars which caused my front wheel to turn perpendicular.

Needless to say I was airborne after that.  I was only going about 12-13 miles an hour at the time since I had slowed down so it wasn’t that bad.  I knew I was going to be OK mid-way through the crash when the only thought running threw my mind was making sure the carbon frame didn’t hit the ground (yes, I used my body to catch the bike).  After I got up, I did a pretty thorough inspection of the bike and (thankfully) the only damage was a scuff on the steel bar-end shifters.  

As for me, aside from a little scrape on the knee and a raspberry on my hip, the only damage was a minor nick on my ego.  That said, I’m not very egotistic and it was actually pretty funny in retrospect.  I keep picturing my dumb ass flying over the handlebars because I was too stupid not to stop before I tried to adjust my cadence meter.  At least there were no cars or other bikers around to see.  The last thing I needed at that point was the obligatory “Are you all right?” from a passer-by.  

Live and learn, I guess.  More importantly, remember to just laugh things off when there’s nothing you can do about it.  Even if I had cracked my frame, I would have been pissed at first, but crying over spilled milk never got anyone anywhere.

Here’s to spilling my milk again sometime in the near future.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

The Great Bike Debate: Part II Garmin Forerunner 305 Review

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


