Do you need swimming lessons?

April 29, 2008 at 7:30 am Leave a comment

This is a question that has run through my mind numerous times as I stare at the black line on the bottom of the pool.  Last week, as I went back and forth in the pool, I started to try to pay attention to my body positioning and I realized that one of my biggest problems is probably related to my balance in the water.  I feel like I’m dragging my legs at times and any time I’ve tried to do a balance drill I’ve practically drowned myself.

It was then that I decided that I’d go ahead and pony up the $45 for a swimming lesson.  If I like the instructor and it helps, I’ll probably go back for a few more.  At first, I was reluctant to spend the money on instruction but then I realized that this was just silly–I don’t hesitate to drop 100 times that amount of money on a bike but don’t want to pay for something that will help my form, racing and training.  That’s just silly in my opinion.

So, I have my first ever (in my entire life) official swim lesson about 48 hours from now and I’ll post a review of how it went sometime after that.  A little over 24 hours from now I’ll be taking my last law school final ever, so I’m pretty happy about that right now.  It’s been a long three years.  I’m just hoping the next eleven months or so until the 70.3 doesn’t feel like the same amount of time.

[Update: Here’s a post after my first swim lesson.]  This post goes into detail about why you might want to invest the money in a good swim coach.  That $45 was quite possibly the best money I’ve ever spent on any of my training.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Recovery Weeks The McDonald’s Phenomenon

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


