Five hours to freedom…well, sort of…

April 30, 2008 at 7:14 am Leave a comment

OK, so admittedly this is a little off topic, but it’s my blog and after three harrowing years of law school, I feel I’m entitled to a little leeway in this area.  

Just over five hours from now I’ll be finished with my last law school exam.  Granted, 3.5 of those next five hours are going to be horrible, but I’m used to it by now.  I don’t go through the actual ceremony until the end of next week, but as of 12:15 pacific daylight time I will be, for all intensive purposes, a law school graduate.

Now this sounds great, but when I think about it, I’m not sure I’m ready to graduate.  Think about it: right now my daily schedule consists of waking up when I wake up (except on school days), working out for a couple of hours, studying for three or four hours, and then basically doing whatever I feel like.  No pressing commitments.  No bosses.  No job.  No stress, really.  

Not having a job is a big bonus for training.  This benefit disappears partially within a few weeks when I start my bar study course, but even then I’m only in class from 9-1 five days a week.  Of course, you have to tack on another 4-5 hours of studying every day onto that, so it’s really more like having a full-time job.  In September, all the lazy days of summer will disappear completely when I start my job.  My first triathlon is the Sunday after my first full week at work, so my timing appears to be good on this as well since I would be in a tapering week anyways (great because I’ll be in training in San Francisco all week).  After that training week, I can look forward to a consistent 9-7 schedule five days a week, plus a few hours on the weekend (yeah, I know, but that’s life at a national law firm for you…).  

It will be nice to have a consistent income and be able to pay off my student loans, but I’m sure I’ll be longing for those random Tuesdays where my biggest concern was whether I should ride the coastal route or hit the hills for the day.  

One thing is for certain though: I will NEVER have to take another law school exam after today.  Sure, there’s that whole “bar exam” thing, but I’ve heard California’s is really easy so I’m not too concerned about it.

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

The McDonald’s Phenomenon Lesson learned: Get a good swim coach

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


