There’s nothing like a great run

May 11, 2008 at 10:20 am Leave a comment

After a day of sitting around on my butt in a bar study class all day, I was ready to get the blood pumping last night.  I had originally scheduled a long run where my pace would have been pretty slow and would have left me feeling like I’ve just done something less than a good run.  

About five minutes into my run I decided that the slow run just wasn’t going to work for me.  I was already pacing about a minute a mile faster during my warmup so I just decided to go for it.  I started running faster than I had at any time during my training to this date and I felt as fit as I had in the past when I did my first run at triathlon training.  Granted, my time wasn’t anything ground breaking, but an 8:20/mile pace over five miles isn’t bad at all for me right now.  Considering I haven’t done any speed work yet and this was my overall pace (including warmup and dodging tourists in Seaport Village), I felt pretty good about it.  

The best part of the run, however, was not the end result of my time.  It was the way I felt immediately afterwards.  To me, there is almost nothing better than the feeling I get immediately after a hard workout like the one I did yesterday.  It’s hard to describe, but I think the best way to do so would be to say that I feel cleansed.  

Although I varied off of my training plan a bit to do this workout, I’m glad I did.  Every once in a while you need to break up the monotony of training.  It also helped me realize that running is probably the area that I’m in the best shape in and I probably don’t need to spend too much more time in a “base” period.  I’m going to transition my running training into a more traditional build period with long runs, tempo runs, intervals, and speed work.  I don’t think my cycling or swimming is ready for such a transition yet, but at least I can get started on one sport.  

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Singing the praises of a great massage Next Stop: City of Sin

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


