Next Stop: City of Sin

May 14, 2008 at 5:10 pm Leave a comment

When one thinks of a proper training regimen for triathlon training, I’m pretty sure a trip to Las Vegas is right up there with donuts for dinner and “endurance training” by couch surfing all day.  

Nonetheless, I depart for the City of Sin tomorrow and I couldn’t be happier about it.  Sure, I’ll miss at least two days of training, but Vegas is Vegas and I just finished three years of law school so what the hell.  

If nothing else, this trip marks the perfect spot for me to start my annual training plan based on the principles set forth in Joe Friel’s Triathlete’s Training Bible.  The first week on the plan will consist of a relatively light week of training but will include a testing period for all three sports.  Since I will have my power meter by Saturday evening, this works out perfectly in more ways than one.  The one modification I will be making to Friel’s recommended plan is that I will be shortening my Base 1 period by a couple of weeks since I’ve essentially been training in a Base 1 period for the past couple of weeks.  

This should be a great weekend.  I’m just hoping I leave enough in my tank to be able to do something of value on Sunday.  Everyone should visit Vegas at least once in their lifetimes…I happen to live about 50 minutes away by plane so I’ve already had enough trips for my lifetime and that of many, many others.  

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

There’s nothing like a great run Back in the Saddle Again & My First Powertap Ride

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


