It’s Lottery Day!!

June 4, 2008 at 8:01 am Leave a comment

Today is shaping up to be a pretty good day.  I had a decent run this morning (not bad considering it’s cold outside), I feel healthy, had a great breakfast, and I have a great workout scheduled for this afternoon.  It got even better when I saw that the lottery results for the NYC Marathon will be posted later today.  I feel lucky, I really do.  I entered the lottery for last year and wasn’t chosen.  I have a better feeling about today.  I’m hoping to make NYC my first marathon…it just seems fitting.

Now, let’s be realistic.  Although the odds aren’t as bad as getting selected for the lottery to Kona, it’s obviously not a certainty.  In reality, based on the events I plan on competing in over the next year and a half, it would probably be better for my overall training plan if I DIDN’T get selected.  Not being selected would allow me “restart” my training year after the OC Triathlon so that I could build my training up to Ironman Arizona in November 2009 (I’m volunteering at this year’s event and plan on signing up to compete for the following year).  

Even with that caveat, I’m still hoping I get selected.  I’m already signed up for the Carlsbad Marathon in January but I really feel like it would be fitting to do NYC as my first.  Plus, it would give me an excuse to go visit my brother in NYC.

Come on NYC lottery….daddy needs a new pair of (running) shoes…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Marathon Observations…A View From the Seventh Floor Need a Coach? Call Coach Troy…A Spinervals Review

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


