OK…So maybe the OC Tri won’t be my first triathlon

June 6, 2008 at 7:56 am Leave a comment

I’ve never claimed to be a patient person.  Nor have I ever claimed that I wasn’t one to take on a challenge.  Since learning the fate of my NYC Marathon lottery hopes, I’ve reworked my yearly schedule and currently have my “year” ending with the OC Tri, followed by a couple of weeks off before I start building my base again for the Oceanside 70.3 in early April.  

However, I soon came to realize something that was so obvious, yet I had failed to pick up on it: based on my current plan I would have only raced in one event this season and only have one triathlon under my belt before I attempted a half ironman.  Yeah…like I said…apparently I like a challenge.  

So, after a little indecision, I settled on signing up for the LA olympic distance triathlon on September 7th.  The OC Tri is three weeks later so I’ll essentially just be in a peak period for a period of a month or so.  I figure the experience I gain in these two events alone will be invaluable for my performance in the 70.3 come April.  April is still a long way out so I’m setting pretty lofty goals for myself.  I’d like to break five hours on my first time at the distance.  I know that this isn’t going to be easy and I’m not pretending that it is going to be.  However, I’m a big believer in setting benchmarks for yourself and the times I need to hit in each event will give me something to work towards in my training.

Happy triing…

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

No Whammies…No Whammies…oohhh….whammy Recovery Weeks

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


