What type of shoes should I buy?

June 18, 2008 at 7:40 pm Leave a comment

With my runs getting longer and longer, I’ve been thinking about replacing my current shoes.  The question was, however, what type of shoes did I need?  I have a high arch and I’m a fairly big guy (175 or so), so I wanted something that would be able to support me and limit injuries.

With all of this in mind, I decided that it was about time for a new pair of running shoes, so I headed over to Road Runner Sports in San Diego to check it out.  I’d heard some good things about the store and I wanted to go to a specialty running store so that I could speak to somebody knowledgeable about what shoes would work best for me.  To be honest, having worked in retail for the better part of a decade during my undergraduate years, I wasn’t expecting much more than a slightly more knowledgeable version of somebody that works at a sporting goods store.

This expectation, however, was quickly dispelled of within minutes of entering the store.  A salesperson approached me within a few minutes and, after learning that it was my first time in the store, directed me towards a tech fitting area (I can’t remember what they call it).  Inside this area, I was immediately greeted, put through two tests (one to determine my arch and the other to determine my running style), sized up, and given a recommendation sheet with the type of shoes I should look at.  Wow.  I really wasn’t expecting that.

So back to the salesperson.  She brought out three different types of shoes that fit the style (neutral) that was recommended for me.  I tried all three on and tried them out on the treadmill.  I must say that the ability to try them out on the treadmill was probably my favorite part of the experience.  I’ve purchased shoes before based on the way they felt walking in them and was subsequently disappointed with the way they felt when I ran.  

I ended up with a pair of shoes that might possibly be the best fitting pair of running shoes I’ve ever owned.  The only bad part all of this is that I’m not scheduled for another run until Friday (I may sneak in some treadmill work tomorrow afternoon though…I really can’t wait to run in these things!).

I guess the point of this post is twofold.  First, you really should go to a specialty running store if for no other reason than the ability to try out the shoes on a treadmill before you leave the store.  Second, if you’re lucky enough to live within driving distance of a Road Runner Sports, I highly recommend you visit them.  

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

A Tale of Two Sundays Special Delivery: Computrainer on the way…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


