The results…Part 2

July 5, 2008 at 7:37 pm Leave a comment

It’s been just over 12 weeks since I started blogging my trek to the 70.3 and exactly 12 weeks since I had my body fat and resting metabolic rate tested.  At the time of my last test I weighed 188.8 pounds, had 15.9% body fat and 158.8 pounds of lean body mass.  

Today, I went in knowing I had dropped weight, but based simply on looking at myself, I was guessing that I was at about 11-12% body fat.  As it turned out, this estimation turned out to be way off.  I came in at 174.4 pounds, a difference of 14.4 pounds since my last test.  This much wasn’t surprising, however, my lean body mass actually went up by .3 pounds to 159.1.  In other words, every single pound I dropped was PURE BODY FAT.  

I have no idea how I managed to do that, but I came in at 8.8% body fat (well, I have an idea how I managed, but I didn’t expect results like this). If it weren’t for the fact that I was being tested by dunk (aka the “gold standard” in body fat testing) and was weighed under water four times to ensure accuracy, I wouldn’t have believed it.  I’d still like to drop about another 2% body fat.  If I still look the way I do after that then I guess I’ll have to consider liposuction if I ever want my abs to reflect my body fat percentage.  

Additionally, I had my resting metabolic rate (RMR) tested again.  RMR is the number of calories your body burns at rest (i.e. if you were to be sleeping all day).  My RMR went up about 500 calories to just over 2300 from about 1850, or about 26% since my last test.  

What this number tells me is that I have not been consuming nearly enough calories.  Frankly the RMR test results make it even more shocking that I was able to maintain my lean body mass levels.  Even on my hardest training days I haven’t been consuming more than 3K calories and, based on my RMR, you could make a legitimate argument that I should be consuming 3K calories to maintain my weight even I did nothing more than sit on my couch and read all day.  

I have a feeling there will be a bit of chastising by my nutritionist come next week and I’m positive she’s going to tell me to start consuming more calories on my training days.  I guess that’s good in a way, but I feel like I already eat a ton so I guess I’ll just have to ramp it up a bit.  If nothing else, I guess I can justify splurging on some good mexican food every now and then after a long day of training.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Stage 1 recap… So maybe LA won’t be my first…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


