So maybe LA won’t be my first…

July 8, 2008 at 4:03 pm Leave a comment

I must be getting a bit anxious to have my first race because I’ve moved up my first race by nearly a month.  Granted, it’s just a sprint race and I’ll be treating it like a training day rather than an actual race, but still, it’s a race.  My first race will be the Santa Cruz sprint triathlon on August 10.  

You might be asking, why?  Well, I have a few reasons.  

First and foremost, my two races in September are preventing me from taking a “bar trip” of any substantial nature.  I can’t exactly take off to Thailand for three weeks and then come back and race.  All my training would have been for naught.  I plan on combining the travel to this race with a mini-vacation in San Francisco with some riding in and around the bay area and then to travel slowly down Highway 1 after the race until I hit just north of LA (then I’ll jet home).  

Second, I plan on getting my bike fit using the Retul 3d bike fit system in San Francisco a couple of days before the race.  This system looks awesome and I can’t wait to do it, the only problem is that the closest places that do this are either in (a) Tucson or (b) San Francisco.  If this were winter, I’d be Tucson all the way, but it’s not.  It’s 100 in Tucson right now and I don’t do 100.  Plus, I love SF.

Finally, I simply need to get away from San Diego for a bit.  Yes, I know, it’s San Diego, but no matter where you live, it’s always nice to get away for a while if for no other reason than to make you appreciate where you live that much more.

So I’ll be looking forward to that race.  I don’t have too many expectations for it other than to simply make it a hard, fast training session so it should be fun.  If nothing else, I guess it will give me a chance to work on my transitions.

Keep on triing….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

The results…Part 2 The power of food

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


