Thank you Masters, I’ll have another

July 24, 2008 at 4:09 pm Leave a comment

I’ve come to the conclusion that if you have a good coach of your masters squad, you just need to trust that they know what they’re doing.  My coach is a Level 5 swim coach (not exactly sure what it means, but that’s pretty high…I know that much).  Despite this ranking, I was a little skeptical of some of the drills he has us do and I started to think that either (a) I could do this myself, or (b) these drills aren’t applicable to triathlon swimming.

However, recently I’ve started to time myself a bit more and I’ve realized that there is a method to his madness: I’m getting faster.  Prior to starting with my masters team, I’d be pushing it to make 1:30 on my 100 yard splits–and there’s no way I could maintain this split.  However, this morning I was cruising (literally, not even pushing it) and was making slow turns (I’m not a kick flipper) and I was still putting up 1:40 splits over some longer sets.  Without the turns, I was actually closer to 1:30 splits.  I’m not sure if my technique is getting better, if it’s the type/combination of training my coach has us doing, or a combination of multiple factors; all I know is that I’m getting faster!

Granted, I’m not going to break any world records at this pace (let alone be first out of the water), but it shows that I’m getting quicker and I haven’t really been swimming as much as I plan on doing after my last event this year.  I’m planning on placing a very heavy emphasis on cycling and swimming for the entire month of October in an effort to improve in both of those areas.  The running will come, but I’m hoping to make significant gains in these areas in October.

So, I guess, in sum, if you’re wondering whether or not you should join a masters swimming program, I guess I would say yes, you should–especially if the coach is good.  

Happy training

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Comic-Con Invades San Diego Three Weeks and over 2000 miles comes down a final 32.9 miles

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


