24 hours to go…

July 28, 2008 at 8:18 am Leave a comment

Twenty four hours from now, I’ll be starting the short walk from my condo to the San Diego convention center so that I can start my preparations for taking the bar exam.  I’m not sure how to describe how I feel right now other than to say that I’m at peace right now.

I’ve worked my butt off for the last two months and I know that I’m as ready as I’m going to be to take this test.  I have no doubt that there are people who put in more work than I did, but if there’s one lesson I’ve learned from my training it’s that you should never compare yourself to others to determine how well you’re doing with your own goals.  Just like it’s no good to compare one cyclists speed to your own on a training ride because you don’t know what his or her focus is–you only know what your focus is–similarly, it doesn’t do any good to compare the study habits of others to yourself.  I’m a firm believer that after four years of undergrad and three years of law school, all of us have a pretty good idea about what works for each of us as individuals.  

I have a pretty relaxed day set up for myself.  I went to my masters practice this morning and I plan to go on a nice long run this afternoon.  In between, I’m going to run some errands and make sure I have everything I need for the next few days since I’m not going to have much time to run errands and I doubt that I’ll be wanting to run errands with the little time that I do have.  Tonight, I’m going to have a healthy dinner with a glass of wine and then probably watch a movie before I hit the sack.  

I’ll be repeating this last part each of the next two nights and will be working out both before and after the bar each day.  Exercise is the easiest way to reduce stress, so I’m going to do a pretty spirited workout each morning and follow it up with a very easy, relaxed workout each evening.  

I’m looking forward to Thursday evening.  Not only will this process finally be over with, but I’ll be celebrating with my friends and I plan on being about four shots of whiskey down before I even make it home.  

Good luck to anyone taking the bar out there.  Just trust in your preparation and remain confident.  Stress and not believing in yourself are your two greatest enemies at this point.  Time is irrelevant.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Adapting to Training With Power Goodbye bar exam. Hello SF…DC…and KONA!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


