Race day has arrived

August 10, 2008 at 5:43 am Leave a comment

It’s just past 5:30 in the morning out here on the west coast and two and a half hours from now I’ll be in the water.  The transition area opens up in about an hour and, as luck would have it, it’s right across the street from my hotel.  I knew I was going to be close to everything when I booked my hotel, but I had no idea that T1 and T2 would literally be across the street from my hotel.  At least I don’t have to worry about getting my gear over there.

So I must admit I’m feeling a little pre-race anxiety.  Even though I told myself that this race didn’t matter when I signed up for it, I still want to do well.  In particular, I really want to have a good bike leg since this is the one area where I feel like I should excel.  I have a feeling it’s going to be a pretty cold first 2/3 of the race.  The water is supposedly pretty cold and that, coupled with the fact that the outside temperature will be about 56 degrees, should make for a pretty cold first two legs.  Talk about incentive to go fast!

Should be an interesting race.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

My bike in its Sunday’s finest My first race report

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


