Ironman Here I Come (well, 15 months from now…)

August 13, 2008 at 6:49 pm Leave a comment

It’s official: I’m registered for my first Ironman.  I’ll be doing Ironman Cozumel next year which falls at about the same time as Arizona in November.  (note: the official international registration is not yet open, but I registered online before I noticed that international registration wasn’t open yet (oops) and after multiple emails, they went ahead and confirmed me.  Official international registration opens on August 19).

I have never been more excited to put myself through 10+ hours of pain.  Quite frankly, I couldn’t have designed a course that was better suited to my cycling strengths: nice and flat.  Granted, I’m sure most people prefer flat courses, but hills absolutely kill me.  At 175 pounds I’m at ~10% body fat, so the absolute lightest I could probably get would be between 165 and 170.  This is a size that is not conducive to climbing.  However, on the flats I can produce a decent speed consistently over long distances.

In addition to the course layout, I decided to go with Cozumel for a couple of other reasons:

1) Easy registration.  No trekking out to Arizona, paying for two nights in a hotel and spending a day off volunteering just to be able to register the next day.  Nope, just pay the money: nice and simple.  The money I’m saving by not having to travel to Arizona this year to volunteer paid for my registration fee to Cozumel.  

2) Location, Location, Location.  No matter where I was headed, I’d probably end up using a few days of vacation time both before and after the race.  Now, let’s see…Tempe, Arizona or Cozumel, Mexico?  Desert and cacti or beaches and palm trees?  Swim in the Tempe river or the Gulf of Mexico?  That’s a close one, but I think I’ll go with Cozumel.  

The only downside will be getting my bike to Mexico on the plane.  I’m probably going to end up buying a large hard travel case specifically for this race, but it will come in handy for any other races I travel to as well.  

On a related note, I’ve decided to procure the services of a coach on this adventure.  I’m thinking that this is something that I should not attempt to self-coach.  I know that I could do it, but I want to do well and I think having a coach will be valuable.  I haven’t decided on a coach yet, but as of now I’m leaning towards Jim Vance.  He’s a professional triathlete based out of San Diego.  I went to one of his swim clinics about a month back and I was very impressed with his level of knowledge.  I’ll post more on this in about a month or so.  I’m not going to start the coaching services until October since I’ll be done with all my events by then.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

My first race report There’s a reason airlines are failing…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


