Catching up (and a couple of race reports)

September 8, 2008 at 3:40 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been pretty busy over the last couple of weeks and, as such, I’ve been slacking on my posts.  Since my last post, I’ve had two races, so without further ado…

Imperial Beach

The only way I can describe this race is to say that it was eerily similar to my Santa Cruz race experience, only with warmer water.  The swim started out horribly again and I couldn’t breathe (again).  I’ve decided that my wetsuit is just a bit too small in the chest area but I don’t need to address this issue until next year.

The bike leg was short, but I managed to avoid getting passed by anyone again and put up a pretty good bike time.  Nothing special, but it was much better than my swim and run times.  

I spent the first half of the run cramping (again).  I still don’t know what’s causing it, but I’m guessing I may be going to hard on the bike.  I need to work on hard bike to run transitions a bit more and hopefully this will subside.  

Overall, I finished in 1:03:53 which put me 15th out of 50 in my age group with the 8th fastest bike split in my age group.  Nothing great, but I’ll take it.

Los Angeles

After two smaller sprint races, the sheer size of this race was breathtaking.  Huge, absolutely huge, and run fantastically.

After my two sprint experiences, I decided to go without a wetsuit on the swim in the hopes that I would be able to breathe.  It worked…too bad I couldn’t swim straight.  Again, mediocre swim.

The bike leg is where I came to life on this one.  It was a 40K bike, so I had plenty of time to make up what I lost on the swim.  The course was much more difficult than I thought it would be, with a couple of pretty big hills and a few significant rolling hills.  I knew I had a bad swim, so I started to crank it on the bike.  From the beginning I was passing people and I kept doing so pretty consistently.  Again, nobody passed me on the bike.  I knew I was doing well when I started to pass quite a few people that started in wave that started ten minutes before mine.  I also passed a fellow tri club member that I knew probably had a good swim since that was his strongest event (I ended up beating him by 10 minutes on the bike).  

I was staying strong on the flats and powering up the rollers.  I can’t tell you how many people I passed on these small hills because the other people just didn’t ride them the right way.  Coming down the hill leading up to the rollers, I was popping it all the way down into my smallest cog and cranking it as hard as I could on the downhill and then slowly shifted up as I went up the hill.  I was absolutely blasting by people.

I put up a 1:08:38 on the bike which was good for 15/105 in my age group and 64th overall out of just over 800 male competitors.  The course was very fun and I wish I would have had some more time to take in the sights…it’s not every day when you get to ride down a street in Los Angeles with a street all to yourself.

The run…what can I say about the run?  Cramps?  Check.  Big f’n hill (twice)?  Check.  Not running nearly as fast as I wanted because I’ve been slacking on my run training?  Check.  It was an uneventful 10K that was very unimpressive.  I put up a 50:30 time, or about 8:10 a mile which is about 40 seconds/mile slower than I know I can average over a 10K.  I had been seriously slacking in my run training, so this isn’t really that surprising.  I’m hoping I can improve on this in OC in a few weeks.

Overall I finished 36/105 in my age group with a time of 2:36:32.  For my first olympic race, I’m pretty happy, but I know I could have done better.  If I would have run the times I know I can, I would have shaved at least five minutes off right there.  My open water swimming needs to improve as well.  Oh well, only one more event left in this season.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Riding Queen K And….We’re Back….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


