3 days down; 63 to go

May 31, 2011 at 11:34 am Leave a comment

I’m three days in to my 66 day re-commitment to training at least 30 minutes a day for 66 days.  They say it takes 66 days to form a habit, so I’m looking to re-form mine one day at a time.

This past holiday weekend was a good start to the training: 3 rides, over 4.5 hours of ride time and approximately 76 miles logged.  I tackled some pretty decent hills, enjoyed the weather and, overall, simply enjoyed being outside again.  My legs are definitely nowhere near where they were back in late 2008 / early 2009, but I’ll get back there.  My hope is to utilize my extra weight right now to build up the power in my legs and then maintain that power once the pounds fall off.  Fat has to be good for something, right?

This week, I’m continuing the trend of staying active by taking my bike to work.  I bought a used Serotta Legend TI a few weeks back and just finished the build on Saturday morning.  I have to say, the bike rides like a dream.  It’s not quite as snappy as the Specialized Tarmac S-Works SL3 that I had before (until it met an untimely death on my roof rack), but it’s as comfortable as any bike I’ve ever ridden and is definitely more responsive than bikes that use a lower-grade carbon weave.  For commuting purposes, the titanium is perfect – there’s no way I would have put my Tarmac on a train, but the titanium is indestructible, so it works great as a dual-purpose bike.

Commuting by bike is definitely a freeing experience.  I can categorically say that I hope that I never, ever, have to ride the bus again.  I’ll take the rain/elements over being treated like cattle any day of the week.  It definitely makes the office a little more bearable, too!

Here’s to a great (short) week for everyone!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Missing in Action: My Departure and Planned Return to My Journey Going Compact (Revisited)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Recent Posts


